# Notice of General Election and Sample Ballots

November 3, 2020

OFFICE OF THE DANE COUNTY CLERK

TO THE VOTERS OF DANE COUNTY

Notice is hereby given of a general election to be held in Dane County, on November 3, 2020 the officers named below shall be chosen. The names of the candidates for each office to be voted for, whose nominations have been certified to or filed in this office, are given under the title of the office and under the appropriate party or other designation, each in its proper column, together with the questions submitted to a vote, in the sample ballot below.

#### **INFORMATION TO VOTERS**

Upon entering the polling place, a voter shall state his or her name and address, show an acceptable form of photo identification and sign the poll book before being permitted to vote. If a voter does not have acceptable photo identification, the voter may obtain a free photo ID for voting from the Division of Motor Vehicles. If a voter is not registered to vote, a voter may register to vote at the polling place serving his or her residence if the voter provides proof of residence. Where ballots are distributed to voters, the initials of two inspectors must appear on the ballot. Upon being permitted to vote, the voter shall retire alone to a voting booth or machine and cast his or her ballot except that a voter who is a parent or guardian may be accompanied by the voter's minor child or minor ward. An election official may inform the voter of the proper manner for casting a vote, but the official may not in any manner advise or indicate a particular voting choice.

## **Voting for President and Vice President**

A vote for candidates for President and Vice President is a vote for the presidential electors of those candidates. A write-in vote for President and Vice President must designate the name of a presidential candidate. A write-in vote for a candidate for President only will be counted. A write-in vote for a candidate for Vice President only will not be counted.

## Where Optical Scan Voting is Used

The voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the name of the candidate of his or her choice for each office for which he or she intends to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall write in the name of the person of his or her choice in the space provided for a write-in vote and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the write-in line. When voting for President and Vice President, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the set of candidates (ticket) for president and vice president for whom he or she intends to vote. To vote for a Presidential ticket that does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall write in the names of persons of his or her choice in the spaces provided and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next the write-in lines. On referendum questions, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "no" if opposed to the question.

When using an *electronic ballot marking device ("Express Vote")* to mark an **optical scan** ballot, the voter shall touch the screen at the name of the candidate of his or her choice for each office for which he or she intends to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall type in the name of the person of his or her choice in the space provided for a write-in vote. When voting for President and Vice President, the voter shall touch the screen at the set of candidates (ticket) for president and vice president for whom he or she intends to vote. To vote for a Presidential ticket that does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall type in the names of persons of his or her choice in the spaces provided. On referendum questions, the voter shall touch the screen at "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall touch the screen at "no" if opposed to the question.

# **Spoiled Ballots**

If a voter spoils a paper or optical scan ballot, he or she shall return it to an election official who shall issue another ballot in its place, but not more than three ballots shall be issued to any one voter. If the ballot has not been initialed by two inspectors or is defective in any other way, the voter shall return it to the election official who shall issue a proper ballot in its place.

# **After Voting the Ballot**

After an official optical scan ballot is marked, it shall be inserted in the security sleeve so the marks do not show. The voter shall then insert the ballot in the voting device and discard the sleeve, or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. If a central count system is used, the voter shall insert the ballot in the ballot box and discard the sleeve, or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. The voter shall leave the polling place promptly.

A voter may select an individual to assist in casting his or her vote if the voter declares to the presiding official that he or she is unable to read, has difficulty reading, writing, or understanding English, or that due to disability is unable to cast his or her ballot. The selected individual rendering assistance may not be the voter's employer or an agent of that employer or an officer or agent of a labor organization which represents the voter.

The following is a sample of the official ballot:

Scott McDonell, Dane County Clerk

The foregoing ballot contains candidates Assembly District 43. The following is a complete list of candidates for all Senate and Assembly Districts in Dane County.

# State Senator - District 14

Joni D. Anderson (Democratic) Joan A. Ballweg (Republican)

#### State Senator - District 16

Melissa Agard Sargent (Democratic) Scott Barker (Republican)

## State Senator - District 26

Kelda Helen Roys (Democratic)

#### State Assembly – District 37

Abigail Lowery (Democratic) John Jagler (Republican) Stephen W. Ratzlaff, Jr. (Independent)

## State Assembly - District 38

Melissa Winker (Democratic) Barbara Dittrich (Republican)

## State Assembly - District 42

Melisa Arndt (Democratic) Jon Plumer (Republican)

# State Assembly - District 43

Don Vruwink (Democratic) Beth Drew (Republican)

# State Assembly - District 46

Gary Hebl (Democratic) Terry Lyon (Republican)

## State Assembly - District 47

Jimmy Anderson (Democratic) Phil Anderson (Republican)

## State Assembly - District 48

Samba Baldeh (Democratic) Samuel Anderson (Republican)

<u>State Assembly – District 76</u> Francesca Hong (Democratic) Patrick Hull (Republican)

# State Assembly – District 77

Shelia Stubbs (Democratic)

## State Assembly - District 78

Lisa B. Subeck (Democratic)

## State Assembly - District 79

Dianne H. Hesselbein (Democratic) Victoria Fueger (Republican)

# State Assembly - District 80

Sondy Pope (Democratic) Chase Binnie (Republican)

# State Assembly - District 81

Dave Considine (Democratic) David J. Dahlke (Republican)