# Notice of Spring Election and Presidential Preference Vote and Sample Ballots April 7, 2020

## OFFICE OF THE DANE COUNTY CLERK

## TO THE VOTERS OF DANE COUNTY:

Notice is hereby given of a spring election and a Presidential Preference Vote to be held in Dane County on April 7, 2020, at which the officers named below shall be chosen. The names of the candidates for each office, whose nominations have been certified to or filed in this office, are given under the title of the office, each in its proper column, together with the questions submitted to a vote, for a referendum, if any, in the sample ballot below.

#### INFORMATION TO VOTERS

Upon entering the polling place, a voter shall state his or her name and address, show an acceptable form of photo identification and sign the poll book before being permitted to vote. If a voter does not have acceptable photo identification the voter may obtain a free photo ID for voting from the Division of Motor Vehicles. If a voter is not registered to vote, a voter may register to vote at the polling place serving his or her residence, if the voter presents proof of residence in a form specified by law. Where ballots are distributed to voters, the initials of two inspectors must appear on the ballot. Upon being permitted to vote, the voter shall retire alone to a voting booth and cast his or her ballot, except that a voter who is a parent or guardian may be accompanied by the voter's minor child or minor ward. An election official may inform the voter of the proper manner for casting a vote, but the official may not in any manner advise or indicate a particular voting choice.

#### AT THE PRESIDENTIAL PREFERENCE VOTE

A voter may cast only one vote in the presidential preference primary.

# Where Optical Scan Voting is Used

Within the party of his or her choice, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the name of the candidate of his or her choice or shall, in the alternative, fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the words "Uninstructed Delegation," or write in the name of a person of his or her choice for a candidate in the space provided for a write-in vote and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the write-in line.

When using an *electronic ballot marking device* ("ExpressVote") to mark an **optical scan ballot**, the voter shall touch the screen or use the keypad to select the party of his or her choice. Within the party of his or her choice, the voter shall touch the screen or use the keypad to select the name of the candidate of his or her choice or shall, in the alternative, touch the screen or use the keypad to select the words "Uninstructed Delegation," or type in the name of a person of his or her choice in the space provided for a write-in vote.

# AT THE SPRING ELECTION

The voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the name of the candidate of his or her choice for each office for which he or she intends to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall write in the name of the person of his or her choice in the space provided, and fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to the write-in line. On referendum questions, the voter shall fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "yes" if in favor of the question or fill in the oval or connect the arrow next to "no" if opposed to the question.

When using an *electronic ballot marking device* ("ExpressVote") to mark an **optical scan ballot**, the voter shall touch the screen or use the keypad to select the name of the candidate of his or her choice for each office for which he or she intends to vote. To vote for a person whose name does not appear on the ballot, the voter shall type in the name of the person of his or her choice in the space provided for a write-in vote. On referendum questions, the voter shall touch the screen or use the keypad to select "yes" if in favor of the question, or the voter shall touch the screen or use they keypad to select "no" if opposed to the question.

## **Spoiled Ballots**

If a voter spoils a **paper or optical scan ballot**, he or she shall return it to an election official who shall issue another ballot in its place, but not more than three ballots shall be issued to any one voter. If the ballot has not been initialed by two inspectors or is defective in any other way, the voter shall return it to the election official who shall issue a proper ballot in its place.

# **After Voting the Ballot**

After an official **optical scan ballot** is marked, it shall be inserted in the security sleeve, so the marks do not show. The voter shall insert the ballot in the voting device and discard the sleeve or deliver the ballot to an inspector for deposit. Where a central count system is used, the voter shall insert the ballot in the ballot box and discard the sleeve or deliver it to an inspector for deposit. The voter shall leave the polling place promptly.

A voter may select an individual to assist in casting his or her vote if the voter declares to the presiding official that he or she is unable to read, has difficulty reading, writing, or understanding English, or that due to disability is unable to cast his or her ballot. The selected individual rendering assistance may not be the voter's employer or an agent of that employer or an officer or agent of a labor organization which represents the voter.

The following is a sample of the official ballot:

Scott McDonell, Dane County Clerk

Following is a complete list of candidates for the office of Dane County Supervisor listed in the proper supervisory district, and for the office of Multi-Jurisdictional Judge.

# **Dane County Supervisors - All Districts**

District 1	Elizabeth Doyle	District 21	Andrew Schauer
District 2	Heidi M. Wegleitner	District 22	Maureen McCarville
District 3	Analiese Eicher	District 23	Shelia Stubbs
District 4	Richard Kilmer	District 24	Sarah Smith
District 5	José Rea	District 25	Dan Kieta
	Elena Haasl		Tim Kiefer

	Yogesh Chawla Matt Veldran	District 26	Holly Hatcher Kevin P. Cunningham
District 8	Carousel Andrea Bayrd	District 27	Dorothy Krause
District 9	Alex Joers	District 28	Michele Doolan
District 10	Jeremy Levin	District 29	Dave Ripp
District 11	Richelle Andrae	District 30	Patrick Downing
District 12	Paul Rusk	District 31	Todd Kluever
District 13	Chuck Erickson		Jerry Bollig
District 14	Anthony J. Gray	District 32	Mike Bare
District 15	Steven Peters	District 33	Ann DeGarmo
District 16	Jamie Kuhn	District 34	Patrick Miles
District 17	Jeff Pertl	District 35	Carl T. Chenoweth
District 18	Michele Ritt	District 36	Melissa Ratcliff
District 19	Teran Peterson	District 37	Kate McGinnity
District 20	Julie Schwellenbach		Kris James Breunig

# Multi-Jurisdictional Municipal Judge for the City of Stoughton, Towns of Dunkirk, Pleasant Springs, and Rutland Matthew Roethe

Multi-Jurisdictional Municipal Judge for the Village of Mount Horeb, Towns of Perry, Primrose, Springdale, and Vermont

Jody L. Morey